Just days ago, I heard from a somewhat reputable source that marshmallows aren’t vegetarian because they’re made from horse hooves. Now, I’m not a vegetarian, nor do I have plans to become one, but I certainly made an awful face and tried to recall the last time I had marshmallows in my cocoa. Horse hooves, really?, I thought. If this were true, that would be the end of my Jell-o days, and that was hard for me to come to terms with, so I did a little research of my own. Well smooth out those furrowed brows Mallomar lovers, the verdict is no, not really. Gelatin is indeed made from the bones and skins of animals (primarily cattle in the US) that are already being raised and processed for food, which if you’re vegetarian is bad news after all. But for those of us with images of a gentle, old mare being herded onto a truck heading to the glue factory: relief.
Still worried? Check out the website of the Gelatin Manufacturers Institute of America.